Five Things To Boost Self Image

When I first left my husband, I felt lousy about myself. I felt I was not pretty. I felt I was not worthy of love or kindness, and I hated myself. These ideas had to go. but how was I going to do that? Gaining in self-esteem is a process, and I still have more to learn. Here are some things I have learned over the years.

Take Better Care of Yourself This means getting enough sleep, eating right and getting out there and doing something physical. I learned that the first step towards feeling better was to treat my body better. Getting more sleep helped, so did easing away from the Doritos. I got outside and played with my boy. It all helped

Do Something Nice For Someone Else When I first moved back home with Dad, the house was a wreck. On Sunday, when my son was not with me, I would take a project on in the house. One week it was soaking the blinds in ammonia, Another week it was cleaning every glass surface. It was a nice thing to do for my Dad who could not do it, and the house got clean.

Call A Friend and Catch Up With Them When I call a friend and see what is going on with them, it gives me perspective on my own life. Hearing what is going on in a friend’s life makes the world a much less lonely place. I have also found that it really helps me to think about someone else and their problems instead of my own.

Take Care Of the Outside One of the first things I did when I left was got my hair cut and did my hair color over. I felt better right away. For an immediate (but temporary) boost, nothing beats getting your outside appearance taken care of.

Make a New Friend When my son was young, we went to the park every single day. There were other mothers there, and it was intimidating to talk to them. I did eventually say hi, and got to be friends with some of them. This was one of the best things that I did for myself. I saw that none of us are perfect, and that I could meet new people. This is the hardest thing to do sometimes, but it had the biggest benefits.

What about you? What are the things you do to boost your self-esteem?

10 thoughts on “Five Things To Boost Self Image

  1. Nancy,
    So needed! This is a great post! I love the call a friend one! (Makes me think of that show “Who Wants to be a Millionaire”) I find keeping in touch with friends keeps me balanced. Shopping with a friend helps too! Doing that tonight (yay!)

    Thinking about how you can give back is good too and making a new friend…. Lots of good stuff here Nancy!
    Lori

    • Hi Lori,

      Calling a friend is my personal favorite one too. Nothing gives me better perspective than talking to someone else. I used to think everyone else had a better life than I did until I really got to talk to people. What is that saying “If we put all of our problems in the middle of the room we would fight to get our own back?”

      My friends keep me sane in the best and worst of times. They truly are my “lifelines”

      Thanks for commenting Lori!

  2. Great advice, my dear. It’s odd how a haircut can make you feel better. I think in addition to looking better on the outside from your perspective, it’s also about doing something nice for yourself and showing yourself that you love you. Sometimes just the littlest thing pushes us into that higher ground of sentiment.

    Keep writing – you’re awesome :)

    • Some days, when I am really down I may take 20 bucks if I have it and go get my hair washed and blown out. The difference in my outlook for the rest of the day is amazing. It really is true that these very simple things remind us we do love ourselves.

      The little things really do count. They make a huge difference. When I had no money, an extra twenty bucks meant I could go get a manicure and a pedicure. Just being able to look pretty in sandals helped change my mood. Who doesn’t like pretty pink toes?

      BTW Margie – you are awesome too!

  3. Hello Nancy
    How are you?
    Thanks for sharing this article.
    It’s important to have a healthy self image because it defines who we are, makes us feel upbeat happy, healthy,….
    We are all unique in our own ways and once we understand this concept I bet we wouldnt be too hard on ourselves.
    Your suggestions are very helpful and they not only affect us externally but internally giving us a reason to be proud of who we are and what we do(constructively), the networks/relationships we ‘ve built overtime etc.
    Take care of yourself and enjoy the rest of the day

    • Hello Ayo,

      You are so right. I was so hard on myself. I was seeking an unrealistic vision of being perfect. Once I calmed down and gave myself a break, my confidence began to improve. I learned that just doing simple things like getting up and making the bed could help me feel more productive. It seems so simple but its not always easy.

      Thank you for commenting, i appreciate it and hope you are having a great day too!

  4. Pingback: 30Thursday number 12: we’re back!

  5. I really like your post! I’ve recently been a through a harsh trial in my life. It’s funny how the little things like getting a hair cut, etc., can really lift your spirits.And if you strike while the iron is hot, you can get down to the meatier issues. Every point you make is true and I wish I could have read this earlier in my struggles. I am sure, however, that your post will speak to many who need to hear this message. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    • Hi Beth,

      Isn’t it so true that the “little things” like getting enough sleep, getting a haircut, and just getting together with our friends can help so much? Yet when everything in my life starts going bad, those are the first things to go.

      I am hoping that this blog can help others. That is my purpose here to help others who maybe need a helping hand.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. It means a lot.

  6. Pingback: Margie Clayman’s 100 Favorite Blog Posts of 2011

Leave a Reply

