Back In the Saddle Again

After a brief hiatus, due to some internet problems, I am back. I love blogging five days a week, and I missed doing it for the past (almost) two days. I had a choice of how to deal with this problem, and after complaining about it, there was nothing left but to accept it. After all, I can’t change the cable company or how they do things.

The interesting thing about not having internet or TV in your house is that you get back to other things, like reading. I read a great book that I will blog about next week. My son and I spent time watching DVD’s and I got to bed early for the first time in a month.

All in all, it was not a bad deal. Life is a series of trade-offs. Maybe I do trade a bit of reading time for being online. Maybe I needed to spend more time with my boy. The truth is, after a day and a half I am very happy to have my TV back and do not see me giving it up anytime soon.

I just wanted to get back in the saddle and say hello. I know that for me, if I do not do something daily, the habit can fall apart very quickly. I have learned a good deal about discipline from one of my heroes, John Falchetto. I know that when he gets down, he gets right back up. This is what I admire about him. Get right back up after a setback, and keep moving forward.

How do you get back in the saddle?

12 thoughts on “Back In the Saddle Again

  1. Oh Nancy…you couldn’t be more right about getting back in the saddle and then STAYING there….I was doing weekly video blogs for my office website and I had a legitimate reason as to why I didn’t do one two weeks ago and then last week I had a less legitimate reason and now this coming week…I had better hop right back on my saddle or I am going to keep finding reasons why I can’t do a video. Shame on me. I am SO glad, however, that you are back. It is frustrating when things like cable companies take us out of our ability to control our lives but, like you seem to have found out, there can be benefits to the forced change. It sounds like you made the very best of a frustrating situation. Welcome back!
    Claudia

    • nancyadavis says:

      Claudia,

      It always starts with something legitimate right? Then it gets easier to justify not doing anything at all. I think that is why it takes us so long to learn new habits.

      It was frustrating to deal with the cable company, and the big lesson for me and my son was in making the best of a bad situation. There were hidden benefits for both of us!

      Nancy

  2. Nancy,

    It’s weird, you see someone post every day and when they don’t, you’re wondering what the heck is up?? Glad to hear everything is okay and it’s just the damned cable company :) But it looks like this little inconvenience worked out for you, eh? Quality time with your son, good reading, more sleep. You’re not going to give up blogging now, are you? Just kidding. Looking forward to your next post. Thanks for the classic jam, and have a great weekend.

    • nancyadavis says:

      Craig,

      It is funny, yesterday Bill tweeted at me, asking where was my post. Nothing showed up in his reader. That was when it really hit me that I needed to solve the cable problem and get right back to blogging. I missed it already after just one day! You all are not getting rid of me anytime soon!

      Nancy

  3. Betsy Cross says:

    Funny images, memories of me and my horse come to mind. She kept going so fast I’d fall off after the saddle rolled under her belly. (I was no good at tightening the straps). Sometimes I’d get dragged. Other times she’d just run away. I learned to leave the saddle home.
    So to answer your question…I ran my butt off. And I still do.

  4. Tammy says:

    Welcome back! All of us here in San Diego had the joy of a full power outage not too long ago. Like you, I passed the time by reading and going to bed early. It’s amazing how dependent we have become on technology, and how the simpler joys can be found even when all of that is gone.

    • nancyadavis says:

      It is shocking isn’t it? I mean, at first I was confused. Then I thought “what will I do with myself?” then I got the idea to read, and that wound up being a wonderful thing to do.

      I forgot how nice it is to sit with a book and just read. Maybe that is something I need to do more of.

  5. billdorman says:

    You do detect patterns online with your community and sometimes it is subtle, but you can pick up on when something just changed.

    With so many people I know pulling back or getting off altogether it seems you look around just waiting to see who’s next at times.

    If you really, really had to post I’m guessing you could have gone to the public library or something, right?

    Good to see you back; let me know who’s messin’ with your Avatar, I know Mr Louis Ville very well too.

    • nancyadavis says:

      Funny you should mention the Library. I considered doing that. If I had gone one day longer, I think I would have. I also have noticed people that haven’t posted in months, seemingly gone missing. What’s up with that?

      I love blogging way too much to leave it.

      That whole Twitter avatar episode last night was bizarre. I mean, come on you really need to talk about my avatar not looking professional enough? Really? I must be VERY interesting or your life must be even more boring than mine!

      Have fun at the tweetup tomorrow! I cannot wait to hear all about it! :)

      Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate it.

  6. Even though I love blogging there are moments where I seriously consider walking away for a bit. There is something to be said for disconnecting and doing something else for a while.

Leave a Reply

