The Kindness of Others

The past few weeks have become a blur. One day is bleeding into the next. I have been blogging about my issues with my back rent and the all too real possibility of eviction. These issues rattle around in my mind and I feel worse as the day rolls along. I re-shift my focus, and begin instead to think about others and how much they have helped me and how they continue to reach out to me. I am a lucky woman. I have extraordinary friends who go above and beyond in terms of trying to help me with this situation.

I get messages on Twitter of encouragement from my friend Al Smith who is in a similar situation. He reminds me on a daily basis that we will get through our challenges and be better for them.

My good friend Margie Clayman has taken to Twitter with my post “Can’t Pay My Rent” and has started tweeting it and talking about getting help for me. I was truly blown away by that. I have been friends with Margie since last October and am often reminded that she is one of the kindest people you will ever meet.

Ameena Falchetto messages me every day on Twitter to see how I am doing, and yesterday she took the time to have a chat with me via Skype. It was really nice to finally “meet” her and listen to her suggestions. I am not going to give away what we talked about. You will have to wait and see.

In my real life, some of my friends have been scouring ads for a new apartment and emailing the listings to me. Others have sent me links to job sites, and still others have just been there to offer guidance. All of these people mean the world to me. Sometimes just being there truly is enough and we often forget that many times people just want to be heard.

I woke up at five this morning. My apartment is dark, and I am typing away, hoping to make sense out of nonsense. Trying to make lemonade out of the lemons life has for me lately. When I got the news yesterday that things were worse than I realized, I had a choice. I could stick my head in the sand and hope it all goes away OR I could reach out for help and hope that someone reaches back. It takes a lot of humility to ask for help.

Sometimes asking for help can be our greatest source of strength rather than a weakness.

Are you strong enough to ask for help when life gets hard or are you still trying to do everything yourself?

9 thoughts on “The Kindness of Others

    • I learned all about building a solid community from you and a few others. You are a huge source of inspiration to me. I can’t tell you often enough how special you are too me.

    • Wallowing gets you nowhere – totally agree. I think it is hard to ask for help because people get seen as “weak” for doing so. It is not weakness, but strength to know you need help.

      It really was great to talk to you too!

  1. Yuckity, yuck, yuck; no two ways about it. I wish I had a magic wand to make it all better. I know you will get through it one way or another, but I’m sure there is still a very tough road to travel.

    It is tough to ask, but I hope someone is able to find a way to provide you some support.

    Good luck and hang in there…….

    • Whatever doesn’t kill us makes us stronger right? So, I should be as strong as Arnold Schwarzenegger at this rate. :)

      It is tough to ask, because so many of us are in the same spot. I do appreciate the kind words though.

      I am hanging tough. :) You know us Jersey chicks…

Leave a Reply

