Stepping Out of Your Comfort Zone

Can you step totally outside of your comfort zone? Are you able to put your fear of failing aside and try something new?

Last night I got to watch a guitar lesson. I wound up learning as much as the person the lesson was for.

Why is that something I would want to tell you about? We live in a society where failure is not an acceptable result. To fail at something means we are failures. To not be able to do something can frustrate even the most talented person.

I don’t think all failure is bad. In some cases, failing can lay the groundwork for something even better.If we take a chance and do not get the result we seek, we can always try again.

Or we can give up. That is the real failure.

There are many times in my life where I have tried things that were well outside the norm for me. I did not always get the reaction I wanted. I have interviewed for jobs only to be passed over for someone more qualified, or worse, better connected. This does not mean I ran up the white flag. What it does mean is that I had to work within my own skill set and find a better fit.

It is the same thing with learning an instrument.

The person learning the song had a hard time doing things like keeping the beat of the song at first. As the night progressed, that began to change.

I saw someone who at first was failing at something begin to succeed. I watched them go from a lack of comprehension to understanding how the song revolved around the beat and the melody.

It was a great reminder for me that if I want something badly enough, all I have to do is keep working at it no matter how many times I fail at first.

It was a fantastic thing to watch.

Have you stepped out of your comfort zone lately? What new thing have you tried to learn no matter how hard it was at first?

Leave a Reply

